Onion City Film Festival

Thanks for joining us for 2016! It was a fantastic year. 


Onion City Awards:

First Place: Many Thousands Gone
Ephraim Asili

Second Place: Something Between Us
Jodie Mack

Third Place: Mad Ladders
Michael Robinson


Honorable Mentions:

Notes from the Interior
Ben Balcom

Aswirl Alight Aight
Tommy Heffron

KaSandra Skistad

Psychic Driving
William E. Jones

Prima Materia
Charlotte Pryce

Ana Vaz

Join us next year for the 28th Onion City Experimental Film Festival.


A Production of Chicago Filmmakers. 

Onion City is one of the premiere international festivals exclusively devoted to experimental film and video.

Onion City was founded in the 1980s by the Experimental Film Coalition and run by them for many years. Chicago Filmmakers assumed responsibility for the festival in 2001, and expanded the size and opened it up to video work as well as film. It is generally 8-10 programs over four days and features roughly 60-70 works from around the world. Aside from the competition programs, there are occasional special presentations of new or old films of note or guest presentations. Screenings take place at Chicago Filmmakers and other venues around mid-June.

The mission of Onion City is to provide local and regional audiences with an opportunity to view a wide variety of contemporary experimental works, focused on artistic excellence but also with an eye towards representing differing styles, forms, and nationalities.


First and foremost, Patrick Friel.

Gabriel Almeida, Julian Antos, Lorena Carmina Barrera Enciso, Raul Benitez, Amy Beste, Pete Brooks, Lilli Carré, Matt Carter, Steve Cossman, Maisey Cox, Andrea Decker, David Dinnell, Sebastian Di Trolio, Lori Felker, Kapra Fleming, Rebecca Hall, Tommy Heffron, Ruth Hodgins, Eli Horwatt, Stephen Kent Jusick, Hannah Kim, Gabe Klinger, Nellie Kluz, Christy LeMaster, Monica Lowe, Abina Manning, Kaitlin Martin, Amiee Mitchell, Madeleine Molyneaux, Emily Oscarson, Grace Palmer, Michael Phillips, Luther Price, Joseph Ravens, Ben Sachs, Abigail Valencia Santourian, Alexander Stewart, Lorelei Stewart, Adam Strohm, Zachary Vanes, Michael Wawzenek, Bryan Wendorf, Kyle Westphal, Olivia Yeung, Theus Zwakhals